Cynthiana is a city commission form of government.  City commission positions are non-partisan.  Commissioners serve a two-year term while the mayor serves a four-year term.  The Commission meets twice monthly on the first and third Tuesdays of the month.  Meetings begin at 5:30 PM and are held at the Harrison County Board of Education meeting room.  All meetings are open to the public.  To contact a commissioner, call the City Clerk’s Office at (859) 234-7150.


City Government


Cynthiana Board of Commissions

James D. Smith
Mayor’s Office: (859) 234-7153

Commissioner of Public Property & Finance
Mark Mattmiller

Commissioner of Police Services
Lourena Judy

Commissioner of Fire Safety & Emergency Services
Isaac Dailey

Commissioner of Public Works & Utilities 

David Conner